Click here to join our daily meditations to support establishing a regular sitting practice.

Sunday Sangha – 10th March 2024

Dave Smith

This session is led by Dave Smith.

Start Time: 11am PT (L.A.) / 2pm ET (N.Y.) / 6pm GMT (London) / 7pm CET (Paris). 90-minute live session.

⭐️⭐️⭐️ Please note the earlier-than-usual start time in the UK and Europe. ⭐️⭐️⭐️

Genuine Happiness: An Alternative Perspective

Dharma practice often overemphasizes suffering (dukkha), overlooking its role in a broader awakening path. The Buddha described awakening as shifting from worldly preoccupations to living from a “ground,” achieved through mindfulness foundations. This shift leads to genuine happiness (eudemonia), focusing on being rather than having. Dave will combine early Buddhist insights with happiness research, exploring how Dharma practice fosters true happiness for ourselves and the world.

This is session is freely-offered, but dana/donations are invited to help us meet our substantial running costs and to support our teachers. To donate, please click here. We appreciate your generosity 🙏

Please click here for help with joining, or contact us for further support.

Dave Smith

Dave Smith

Dave Smith is an internationally recognized Buddhist meditation teacher, addiction treatment specialist, and published author. His background is rooted in the Insight Meditation tradition and he has taught many times at Sangha Live. He was empowered to teach through the Against the Stream Buddhist Meditation Society.  He has extensive experience bringing meditative interventions into jails, prisons, youth detention centers and addiction treatment facilities. 

Dave teaches residential meditation retreats and classes, provides trainings and consulting in both secular and Buddhist contexts, and works with students through his meditation mentoring program. He recently founded the Secular Dharma Foundation and lives in Paonia, Colorado. Click here to learn more about Dave Smith.