Click here to join our daily meditations to support establishing a regular sitting practice.

Exploring Different Buddhist Traditions

The Buddha’s wisdom unfolds with a beauty and richness as diverse as the landscapes of the world. From the quietude of ancient forests to the bustle of modern cities, various Buddhist traditions have emerged and blossomed, each a unique expression of the path to awakening.

Theravada School

Exploring Different Buddhist Traditions
- Theravada

Theravada, meaning “Teaching of the Elders,” is considered the oldest surviving Buddhist school. For the last decade or so, Theravadan teachings and practice lineages have also increasingly become known as ‘Early Buddhism’, particularly when taught in a lay, rather than monastic context.

This tradition emphasizes the original teachings of the historical Buddha, referencing the earliest Pali texts and, and central teachings such as the Four Noble Truths and the Eightfold Path.

Theravada meditation often includes mindfulness of breath (anapanasati), loving-kindness (metta), and insight (vipassana) meditation. These practices aim to develop mindfulness, concentration, and insight into the nature of reality.

Mahayana School

Mahayana, or “Great Vehicle,” emerged later than Theravada and emphasizes compassion and the bodhisattva ideal—the intention to practice for the benefit of all beings.

Mahayana meditation often incorporates visualization, chanting, and deity yoga alongside traditional mindfulness and concentration practices. These methods aim to cultivate compassion, wisdom, and bodhicitta – the aspiration for liberation.

Cha’an and Zen Lineages

Cha’an (Chinese) and Zen (Japanese) are derived from Mahayana Buddhism, and emphasize direct insight into the nature of mind and reality. Chinese lineages are often interwoven with Taoist imagery and teachings.

Exploring Different Buddhist Traditions
- Cha'an

Japanese Zen has two primary streams – Soto and Rinzai. Both emphasize non-conceptual meditation (Shikantaza), and Rinzai especially makes use of paradoxical statements or questions (koans) to go beyond conceptual understanding. Short, intense dialogues with a teacher (dokusan) are a common feature of Zen, along with ritual, ceremony and chanting.

Zen meditation (zazen) tends to be highly structured, with precise instructions for posture in walking, sitting and standing, with an emphasis on posture, breath awareness, and non-attachment to thoughts and sensations.

Pure Land Buddhism

Pure Land Buddhism emphasizes devotion to Amitabha Buddha and the aspiration to be reborn in his Pure Land, a realm conducive to enlightenment. Pure Land practitioners often recite the name of Amitabha Buddha (nianfo) with single-minded devotion as a form of meditation, with the intention to cultivate mindfulness, faith, and merit for rebirth in the Pure Land.

Tibetan Buddhism/ Vajrayana

Exploring Different Buddhist Traditions
- Tibetan Vajrayana

Vajrayana, also known as Tibetan Buddhism, integrates Mahayana teachings with tantric practices and rituals, emphasizing the use of skillful means to attain enlightenment swiftly for the benefit of all beings.

The various Vajrayana lineages, hailing from the Himalayan regions of Tibet, Bhutan, Sikkim, Ladakh and Nepal use meditation techniques including deity visualization, mantra recitation, and advanced tantric practices. They are also influenced by the shamanistic practices of the Bon tradition, which predates Buddhism in Tibet.

Vajrayana practices aim to purify the mind, awaken inherent wisdom, and transform ordinary experience into the path to enlightenment.

Secular Buddhism

The secular movement seeks to extract the practical aspects of Buddhist teachings from their religious and cultural context, emphasizing principles such as mindfulness, compassion, and impermanence, and often integrating them with modern psychological insights.

Secular Buddhist meditation typically focuses on mindfulness practices derived from traditional Buddhist techniques, such as mindfulness of breath and body scan meditation.

These practices aim to reduce suffering, enhance well-being, and cultivate greater self-awareness and insight.