Click here to join our daily meditations to support establishing a regular sitting practice.

Courageous Intimacy:
Awakening Through Connection

Live Online Course

September 26th, 2022 - October 23rd, 2022

We find ourselves in an age of alienation and loneliness. How can we overcome our delusions around connection, and awaken to our interdependence?

Sensei Koshin Paley Ellison is an author, Zen teacher, Jungian psychotherapist, Certified Chaplaincy Educator, co-founder of the New York Zen Center for Contemplative Care, and global thought leader in contemplative care.

Through this communal 4-week journey with Koshin, we’ll learn embodied practices and nourishing rituals that will help us to work through our fears, embrace non-separating worldview, and cultivate intimacy with our environments and relationships.

Hosted within an interactive portal, the course will include: hi-def video teachings from Koshin, Zazen meditations, journaling and contemplative exercises, and course buddy discussions — all of which will brightly illuminate the path of connection.

Participants will gain:

  • A shift from a self-centered to an awakened worldview
  • An experienced understanding of the kleshas: greed, resentment, and delusion
  • The courage and ability to connect through embodied practice

Module 1 — Intimacy: Integrating Oneself in Each Moment

We begin our course by acknowledging and embracing the notion that we are not alone in this world; that we are inextricably bonded to our immediate and global surroundings.

This truth, we’ll learn, is both a gift and responsibility.

We’ll establish our inspirations for opening up, and practice encountering the people in our lives with curiosity and wonder.

Module 2 — Delusions: Training in Compassion

Our second module prepares us to turn towards the three kleshas, or unwholesome mind-states, of greed, resentment, and delusions.

Together we’ll explore how our relationships with ourselves and with others are impacted by the kleshas, and inquire into the purpose these aberrations of the mind may serve.

We’ll learn how we can turn these poisons into medicine.

Module 3 — Receptivity: Practicing Being Awake Together with Fear

In our third module, we’ll ask ourselves: what if everything in our moment-to-moment experience could be our spiritual teacher?

We’ll inquire into the challenge of meeting each moment fresh and new, and learn to foster a 360-degree view of life.

We’ll learn how to cultivate nourishing rituals and conditions that foster a “beginner’s mind.”

Module 4 — Awakening: Allowing the World to Flow With & Through You

Our final module brings together all of the elements discussed in the previous modules: seeing ourselves as not-separate from others; transmuting poisons into medicine; and crafting rituals that allow us to learn from any experience.

We’ll reflect on how we can further integrate these embodied practices into daily life, dispel loneliness through service, and continue to connect beyond our course.

Praise for Koshin's Teachings

Koshin Paley Ellison’s teachings share the way forward into a path of connection, compassion, and intimacy.”

His Holiness The Dalai Lama

Koshin makes the ancient wisdom of Zen feel intuitive for our contemporary minds.

Ira Byock, MD

To meet Koshin is like being embraced by hope.

—Anthony Edwards

Live Online Course Details

Pre-Recorded Video Teachings

Each weekly module includes approx. 1 hour of content that includes hi-def video lessons from Koshin, Zazen meditations, and prompts for weekly discussions and inquiry. These videos will also be available as downloadable MP3s.

Woman Watching Martin Aylward

4 LIVE Interactive Video Q&A Sessions

Each Sunday, we’ll meet live for 1-hour to discuss our practice experiences as a collective, ask Koshin questions, and receive his direct, insightful feedback. Replays will be available within 24 hours of each live session & indefinitely, for those unable to attend.

Experiential Activities

Every week, Koshin will offer invitations to observe his teachings in the real world, as well as journaling prompts. These will help us to incorporate Koshin’s teachings, and foster deeper connection and awareness, in our daily lives.

Course Buddies

Every participant in this course will be assigned a Course Buddy, according to shared time zones. Buddies will connect weekly, ideally over video chat, for 1-1 reflection and sharing around Koshin’s assignments.

Schedule

Photo - Alarm Clock - Schedule

Dates & Times

Course Launch: Monday September 26 (First lessons posted)

LIVE Orientation: Monday, September 26 @ 9:00 AM PT, 12:00 PM ET, 5:00 PM BST, 6:00 PM CEST (60 minutes)

LIVE Interactive 1: Sunday, October 2 @ 9:30 AM PT, 12:30 PM ET, 5:30 PM BST, 6:30 PM CEST (60 minutes)

LIVE Interactive 2: Sunday, October 9 @ 9:30 AM PT, 12:30 PM ET, 5:30 PM BST, 6:30 PM CEST (60 minutes)

LIVE Interactive 3: Sunday, October 16 @ 9:30 AM PT, 12:30 PM ET, 5:30 PM BST, 6:30 PM CEST (60 minutes)

LIVE Interactive 4: Sunday, October 23 @ 9:30 AM PT, 12:30 PM ET, 5:30 PM BST, 6:30 PM CEST (60 minutes)

Replays will be available within 24 hours of each live session & indefinitely, for those unable to attend.

About Sensei Koshin Paley Ellison

Sensei Koshin Paley Ellison, MFA, LMSW, DMIN, is an author, Zen teacher, Jungian psychotherapist, and Certified Chaplaincy Educator. After many years as a chaplain and psychotherapist, Koshin co-founded the New York Zen Center for Contemplative Care, which offers contemplative approaches to care through education, personal caregiving, and Zen practice. Today, New York Zen Center’s methodologies are internationally recognized—and have touched the lives of tens of thousands of individuals.

Koshin is a world renowned thought leader in contemplative care. He is the author of Untangled: Walking the Eightfold Path to Clarity, Courage, and Compassion (Balance/Hachette, 2022); Wholehearted: Slow Down, Help Out, Wake Up (Wisdom Publications, 2019) and the co-editor of Awake at the Bedside: Contemplative Teachings on Palliative and End of Life Care (Wisdom Publications, 2016). His work has been featured in the New York Times, PBS, CBS Sunday Morning, Tricycle among other publications.